The 2019 AGM of Collingwood Harriers Athletic Club Inc was held on Thursday June 6th at our clubrooms in Clifton Hill. There was a large crowd in attendance, most of whom undoubtedly were keen to see the result of elections later in the evening.

Retiring President, Jim Hopkins, gave a brief run down of the past year followed by various reports updating those present on specific areas of the Club’s activities. Of particular interest was the report from the Treasurer, Sofie Fabre, showing a most pleasing financial situation despite the track being out of action for a substantial part of the previous year.

The time honoured Blue Ribbons were presented to Chiara Santiglia and Nathan Andersen for their respective wins in the Club 100 Yards Championships held in February. Chiara was also presented with the Alby Sargent Award for the best performance by a junior in the 100 yard events. This award was presented by Alby’s eldest son, Grant.

Scott Lovell was presented with the Colin Murraylee Summer Points Award in recognition of his efforts during the recent Shield Season. Unfortunately Isabella Simonelli (Kirralee Radford Summer Points Award) and Amy Cornell and Hugh McCarthy (both 5 Mile Cross Country Champions) could not be at the rooms on the night.

A special presentation was made to Terry Lanham to mark his retirement from the position of Club Auditor after FIFTY YEARS in the role. Terry who also served as Club Treasurer for some years and was also a member of one of the Club’s treasured A Grade Track Premierships was presented with an original painting suitably inscribed with details of his service. A sheath of flowers was also presented to Terry’s wife Jan, who for many years did the typing for the financial statements produced for the Club.

The elections saw Jim Hopkins returned as President for a third year.  Both Jim and the only other candidate Liam Delany, were given the opportunity to speak to the assembled gathering before a brief question session was also held. Scott Lovell was again elected to the position of Vice President while incumbent Secretary and Treasurer, Andrew McAdam and Sofie Fabre will also serve a further year in their respective jobs.

Campbell Maffett is our new Winter Manager, Lou Santiglia, the Administration Manager and Andrew Dawson the Coaching Co ordinator. Robert Barnes was elected as the Summer Manager, but has since stood down for personal reasons.

Chris Boylen, Paul Wallace, Lewis Sullivan and Steve Griffiths were elected as ‘ordinary’ members of the Committee.