## Saturday August 8<sup>th</sup>

The FIVE

The day got off to a great start when a stack of people turned up to help mark out the course. This enabled the job to be done in record time, with the course looking terrific, giving the runners a clear path to follow. Thanks to the workers, including **Ray Harbert, Tony Williams, Heather** and **Peter Gaunt, John Crameri, Susumu Miura** and **Dale** and **Geoff Carroll**.

This year's fields were a few down on those of the last few years. It is disappointing that we don't seem to be able to get more members to this event, especially when you consider the increase in our numbers in recent years. This day has become the showpiece of our season. Hopefully more and more will be a part of the day in the future!

Once again **Richmond Harriers** joined us for the day and apart from conducting their own championship within our event, their runners vied with those Magpies present for the City of Yarra medals.

Another welcome visitor to our day was the CEO of AV, **Glenn Turnor** – just having a look at the grass roots of athletics!

The placegetters in these championships were:

#### JUNIORS

	GIRLS			U/16	2.7k	BOYS	
1	Lucy Leutchford	l Coll	11:03	1	Hayden Morris	Coll	10:26
2	Zoe Cornell	Coll	11:16	2	Jack Sayer	Coll	10:48
3	Emma Newton	Coll	11:38	3	Gareth Ward	Rich	10:57

#### SENIORS

	WOMEN		C	PEN	8k	MEN	
1	Virginia Moloney	Coll	30:14	1	Jai Edmonds	Coll	27:24
2	Ni'a Jones	Rich	30:55	2	Liam Delany	Coll	27:30
3	Erchana M/ Bartle	ett Coll	32:02	3	Joji Mori	Rich	28:04

For the Collingwood runners a sealed handicap was conducted on today's events, the results of which have usually been quite instrumental in the outcome of the Winter Points Awards for the Club decided over the entire season. The winners are announced on the first day of next season at the Laceby Cecil Hcp.

Today's junior race was keenly contested with **Hayden Morris** and **Lucy Leutchford** being first Magpies home in their respective races. For **Amy Cornell** it was a taxing day, having been required to run 4.5k for her school early in the morning.

#### **COLLINGWOOD JUNIOR CCC 2.7k**

1	Hayden Morris	10:26
2	Jack Sayer	10:48
1	Lucy Leutchford	11:03
2	Zoe Cornell	11:16
3	Lachlan Sayer	11:26
3	Emma Newton	11:38
4	Amy Cornell	11:40

The senior race saw a ding dong battle with **Jai Edmonds** and **Liam Delany** playing cat and mouse for much of the journey. After an even first lap with **Matthew Newton, Dale Carroll** and **Hugh McCarthy** in tow, the two main protagonists broke away with Liam holding a twenty five metre lead at the end of the second lap. Dale had broken away from Matthew, with Hugh, looking like he may have eased off the training after his good Gold Coast marathon a few weeks back, falling a little further off the pace.

At the hospital gate, on the third lap, Liam had perhaps extended his lead to thirty five metres, however Jai put in a bottler from there on, getting to the lead just after the turn for home at the bottom of the course and was able to get a break up the hill and hold on to record a narrow but decisive victory to make it two in row. Dale followed up his great run at Brimbank Park last Saturday with another terrific effort to be third Collingwood runner home. His time would have been even better had he not crashed on the last turn before the finish.

**Virginia Moloney**, too, made it two on the trot with a convincing win in the female division. Never challenged today, Gin was a clear winner from **Erchana Murray Bartlett** with **Kara Landells** further back in third spot.

## COLLINGWOOD SENIOR CCC 8k The FIVE

1	Jai Edmonds	27:24
2	Liam Delany	27:30
3	Dale Carroll	28:16
4	Matthew Newton	29:05
5	Michael Whitehead	30:09
6	Jordan Minter	30:11
1	Virginia Moloney	30:14
7	Danny Reddan	30:40
8	Hugh McCarthy	30:53
9	Trent McCormick	31:07
2	ErchanaMurray Bartlett	32:02
10	Paul Rothin	32:02
Inv	David Lawson	32:18
11	Nick Kenyon	33:05

12	Peter Gaunt	33:27
3	Kara Landells	33:33
Inv	Jayden Thrush	33:37
Inv	Nadille Kolb	34:28
13	Leo Arantes	35:28
4	Heather Gaunt	36:53
14	Jim Sayer	37:13
15	Paul Twining	38:16
5	Alison Chapman	38:51
6	Ali Burns	39:15
16	Doug Leutchford	39:26
17	Jim Hopkins	39:30
18	Mark Cornell	41:02
7	Issy Ermacora	47:20
8	Sofie Fabre	49:47
19	Robert Barnes	52:13
9	Jessica Newton	58:25

## **CHAMPIONSHIP PLACINGS**

1	Virginia Moloney	30:14	1	Jai Edmonds 27:24
2	Erchana Murray Bartlett	32:02	2	Liam Delany 27:30
3	Kara Landells	33:33	3	Dale Carroll 28:16

At the end of the hostilities runners and spectators alike, made their way back to our rooms for a bite to eat and to witness the presentations, of course featuring our now world famous "**Parade of Champions**." It was again great to see a good representation of past winners in attendance, although it was, this year, to follow a sombre introduction when the recent passing of multiple winner (first win in 1945!), **Don Collins**, was acknowledged.

At the conclusion of the formalities it was great to see the intermingling of members, old and new, for quite some time into the early evening.

**Officials:** Thanks to all the helpers who did their bit to make this day another terrific one for the Club. **Ray Harbert** and **Kevin Wigmore** at the finish line, **Brian Moore** with his trusty pistol, **Allan Minter**, coordinating the results back at the rooms, **Diana Barnett**, dishing out the tags and **Tony Williams, Don Cook, Graeme Scott** and **Tony Hally** out on the course all played their part in the success of the day. Thanks also to the Richmond people who did their bit, particularly **Frank Brennan** (helping on course) and **Veronica Brown** who collected a stack of flags after the conclusion of the races.

**Theresa Barnes**, **Judy Mason and Andrew Thomson** did a stack of work, setting up the goodies for the afternoon tea and cleaning up afterwards, while **Mark Cornel**, along with his apprentices **Amy** and **Zoe** wielded the tongs at the barbecue. **Lucy Leutchford** gave a hand as well!

# Past Champions to participate in this year's Parade were:

Sharee Sharam	2004
Jane Kanizay	2010
John Morgan	1950 1951
Barry Gust	1960 1961
Brian Clarke	1962 1964 1966
Robert Hendy	1965 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1974 1975
Ian Minter	1979 1980 1981 1983 1984 1989 1990
Paul Twining	1982
Steve Griffiths	1994
Patrick O'Keeffe	2010, 2011
Liam Delany	2012, 2013
Jai Edmonds	2014